FCPS Presents Support Staff Awards

FCPS Presents Support Staff Awards
Posted on 08/08/2018
Recipients of the 2018 Support Staff AwardsFor Immediate Release
August 8, 2018
Contact: Steve Edwards, Coordinator of Policy and Communications
540-662-3888 x88235

Frederick County Public Schools recognized employees from 13 different areas during its support staff convocation this afternoon. This is the 20th year the awards have been presented to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of the school division’s support staff.

There are five award categories for support staff which include: Bus Driver of the Year; the Gala Award, for facilities services workers, custodians, couriers, mechanics and school security officers; the Macintosh Award, for instructional, library, and bus aides; the Rome Award, for school nutrition services staff; and the York Award, for specialists, including student support specialists, clerical support, information technology staff, school psychologists, diagnosticians, social workers, sign language interpreters, accompanists and school nurses.

Ann Linaburg was selected the Bus Driver of the Year. Linaburg has been driving a bus for Frederick County Public Schools for 29 years. During the 2017-18 school year, she drove a bus which served students at Indian Hollow Elementary School, Frederick County Middle School and James Wood High School.

This year’s Gala Award winner was Terry Smith, a custodian at the Dowell J. Howard Center. The runner-up was Rick Revetta, a custodian at Gainesboro Elementary School. Gretchen Rusch, a special education aide at Indian Hollow Elementary School, was the winner of the Macintosh Award. Frederick County Middle School Instructional Aide Candice McGovern was the runner-up.

The recipient of the Rome Award was Michael Logan, the school nutrition services manager at James Wood Middle School. Wendy Phillips, a school nutrition services employee at Armel Elementary School, was the runner-up.

The winner of the York Award was Millbrook High School Nurse MaryAnn Tanis. The runner-up was Smokey Huff, a specialist in the Transportation Department.

For the Gala, Macintosh, Rome, and York Awards, the procedure begins with a nomination process. Any employee may nominate another employee for an award and each site may elect one individual in each category. The nominees then complete application forms which are reviewed by a panel of judges. An award recipient and a runner-up are selected for each category.

The recipient of each award receives a plaque and a monetary gift of $500. Each runner-up receives a framed certificate and a monetary gift of $250.