FCPS Names Bryan Newman its 2019 Teacher of the Year

FCPS Names Bryan Newman its 2019 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 08/08/2018
Dr. Sovine and Bryan NewmanFor Immediate Release
August 8, 2018
Contact: Steve Edwards, Coordinator of Policy and Communications
540-662-3888 x88235

Frederick County Middle School Life Science Teacher Bryan Newman was named Frederick County Public Schools’ 2019 Teacher of the Year during the school division’s annual convocation program this morning. Newman has been a teacher for 17 years, including 15 years with Frederick County Public Schools. During his tenure with Frederick County Public Schools, Newman has taught at the former Frederick County Middle School, James Wood High School, Admiral Richard E. Byrd Middle School and the new Frederick County Middle School.

Schools Superintendent David Sovine says, “Mr. Newman is a passionate teacher who views teaching as a way to have a positive impact on students and our community. He is a lifelong learner who takes the opportunity each day to reflect on his work and seek ways to improve so that his students can achieve success. In addition to teaching, Mr. Newman also serves students through coaching and leading an after-school science and outdoor club at his school. He has also served as a mentor to new teachers and has given of his time to serve on school improvement teams as well as district-level task forces and committees. He is an outstanding representative of the teaching profession and someone who is dedicated to his students and profession.”

Newman says, “I have a passion for learning and sharing my enthusiasm for life, especially science, with others. What I have learned over the course of my lifetime, I have yearned to share with others. This desire to learn and teach is at my core and is the most natural part of who I am as a person.” He adds, “Every student is entitled to a quality education no matter their race, religion, ethnicity, socioeconomic background, level of academic achievement and/or ability. High-quality education opens the doors to unlimited personal growth and development and guides one on their life-long search for purpose, meaning and fulfillment. Thus, a high-quality education is the key to both empowered individuals and strong communities.”

Newman was one of three finalists for the 2019 Frederick County Teacher of the Year Award. The other finalists were Orchard View Elementary School Fourth Grade Teacher Danielle Storrs and Admiral Richard E. Byrd Middle School Technology Education Teacher David Curry.

The other nominees were: Denise May, Apple Pie Ridge Elementary School; Hannah Dove, Armel Elementary School; Shawn Perry, Bass-Hoover Elementary School; Chrystal Hawkins, Evendale Elementary School; Christina Tylka, Gainesboro Elementary School; Michael Walton, Greenwood Mill Elementary School; Elizabeth Brennan, Indian Hollow Elementary School; Heather Walther, Middletown Elementary School; Emily Braithwaite, Redbud Run Elementary School; Ruth Riemenschneider, Stonewall Elementary School; Noel Sciegaj, James Wood Middle School; Shannon Trout, Robert E. Aylor Middle School; Roslyn Clark, James Wood High School; Hillary Suire, Millbrook High School; Elaine Bolyard, Sherando High School; Eddie Dorman, Dowell J. Howard Center; and Rebecca Sigler, Northwestern Regional Educational Programs/Senseny Road School.

Frederick County Public Schools initiated the Teacher of the Year program in 1990. Each spring, every school site nominates one candidate for the Teacher of the Year Award. Each candidate is asked to complete an application which is reviewed by a committee of community leaders and educators. Three finalists are selected and interviewed to determine the Frederick County Teacher of the Year. The recipient of the award represents Frederick County in the Virginia Teacher of the Year program.

The Teacher of the Year runners-up receive a plaque; a $1,000 spending account to be used for instructional materials, supplies or travel; and a $250 gift card.

The Teacher of the Year receives a plaque; a gold signet ring featuring the school division’s logo encircled by the words “Teacher of the Year”; a $3,000 spending account to be used for instructional materials, supplies or travel; $500 cash and a $250 gift card. In addition, the winner's name is placed on a permanent plaque in the board room at the Frederick County Public Schools Administration Building.

The Apple Federal Credit Union Education Foundation and Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield co-sponsored this year’s Teacher of the Year Award. The ring given to the Teacher of the Year is provided by Gregg Miller, the local representative of the Herff Jones Company. The gift cards awarded to the Teacher of the Year and the two runners-up were donated by McGriff Insurance Services. The $500 cash award presented to the Teacher of the Year was donated by Lisa McKee, the president of Give Back with Cuts, a non-profit organization that provides school supplies and haircuts to Frederick County Public Schools students in need.